Do You Own A Virtual Pinball Cabinet?

Peter NYC

Apr 17, 2012
Just wondering how many people here have their own virtual pinball cabinet. For those unfamiliar with what one is, it is a PC based system usually with multiple screens mounted inside of a real pinball cabinet.

SpiffyRob

May 5, 2012
In the middle of building one as we speak. I'll post pics when it is a bit further along, but it's already very playable.

Definitely hoping TPA comes out with a PC version with cabinet support sooner rather than later.

Craig Booth

Feb 28, 2012
Yeah, built one for Visual Pinball using Radical! as a donor. Really liked that table too, so it's a shame I had to rip it a new one. Still have the playfield and would love to make a coffee table out of it!

RetroDude

Mar 24, 2012
No, I don't have one.

As much as I love Pinball and would love to play all of my old favorites, and new machines I've never played in the flesh, I've not been able to do so before.
As a software developer, I have to respect I.P. rights and thusly have avoided VP and FP.

FarSight gives me hope!
If the PC version supports cabinet builds, I'm there!

As I understand it, it sounds like downoaded digital content, as it currently exists for the other platforms might not work very well with PC cabinet builds.
It also seems that for hardcore cabinet builders, most of the PC hardware and software configurations are not exactly live connected to the internet constantly.

That being the case, I'd certainly be willing to support an alternate release for PC cabinets...

Lets say.. a TPA "Pro" version.
Even if it was purchasing a CD/DVD disc for each game, at a premium price.

I'd hope that the game would be built in such a way as to provide the ability to have all the digital output signals available to trigger external hardware and lights...
as well as having the digital input signals available to use real flipper buttons, real plumb-bob, real analog type plunger, real buttons inside the coin door... etc.