Pinball Tips For Newbies

How Good Are You At Pinball?

• I have won tournaments and have the balls to prove it.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

RKade8583

Apr 5, 2012
Hi. I'm a newbie. Everything else aside, I'd like some general tips from people at large about becoming a better pinball player. As is, I don't flipper-mash, I tend to suck at tilting (over-tilt), and my scores vary wildly from, 10k to 350k on Black Hole (for example). I'd like to get good at a lot of different tables because, really, who likes the same noise over and over.

Also, I figure it'd be a good repository since this IS a pinball forum and I can't be the only newb.

edit: Terms may have to be explained... In fact, it's probably a good idea.

Last edited:

EbortionXsrk

Apr 4, 2012
I've been talking to some pros for quite awhile now, as I'm actually venturing to Austin to pursue competitive pinball (flying to PAPA, etc.) The best thing I've ever been told was by Bowen Kerins, and the thing I try to pass on to everyone else, is this: Have a reason behind every shot you make. If you don't have a reason, don't make a shot. Every press of the flipper is a potential drain. Kind of pointless to risk draining the ball without a reason, right?

Also, never, ever have both flippers up at the same time...

Sean DonCarlos

Staff member
Mar 17, 2012
Also, never, ever have both flippers up at the same time...
Unless you have traps going on both sides in multiball, of course. :p