Re-release...and the history of digitized real pinball tables?

Storm Chaser

Apr 18, 2012
When following the threads about the upcoming tables the word re-release is mentioned quite often. Has there been a previous version of Pinball Arcade? Has it anything to do with Virtual Pinball?

I started playing digital pinball with the Pinball Arcade and never really cared much for other digital pinball games, not even Zen. I haven't really been able to get a good grip on what has actually been made in terms of digitizing real pinball tables. So could someone enlighten me?

1. What does re-release mean?

2. What was (is?) Virtual Pinball? Was it ever any good? It seems like there were more tables to it (made by amateurs?)...is that so?

Jeff Strong

Staff member
Feb 19, 2012
1. Before TPA, Farsight made other pinball video games on various platforms under the title Pinball Hall of Fame (PHOF). There were 2 PHOF collections: The Williams Collection and The Gottlieb Colletion (check those links for a list of tables from each, as well as other info). Tables from these collections have been re-released for TPA. Each month's table pack has included one PHOF re-release in addition to one new table.

2. I think you mean Visual Pinball? VP is a PC only program that's completely free. You can play almost real pinball machine on VP, plus there are a bunch of original tables as well. The quality of the physics and graphics varies from table to table because they're all re-created (or created, in the case of the originals) by the fans. They do use the real ROMs though, so all the rules and settings are accurate to the real machines. Farsight has the advantage in that they can tear apart the real machines to make sure their re-creations are as accurate as possible. Even so, it's quite amazing what some of the VP guys have been able to do, and there are some really great tables available for VP.

Last edited:

Storm Chaser

Apr 18, 2012