Strategies Thread

gordonabrown

May 3, 2016
Strategies, you say? Is that even possible on this table?

I'm by no means an expert at it but I'm really enjoying playing this one. I'm a bit of a sucker for EMs and this one is a beast with that 200k being on par with Central Park's goals. I have managed to figure out a few little tricks on this one to allow me to at least be consistently average. My high game so far is 140k with a high ball of 84k. I can generally average 25-30k per ball.

1) The green-lit bumper is a must on each plunge. Give it a nudge up as it rolls by and you should get it. If you don't get the green bumpers lit, don't even consider getting a high score. The 100pt/pop on the lower bumper alone will get you several thousand in the course of a ball.

2) Flailing is deadly. Often, as with pinball in general, letting the ball bounce around a bit is far less dangerous than flailing at it. Use the tips of your flippers to place the ball to the centre of the lower bumper and let it pop up into the 5 or 6 while hoping you don't get an outlane drain. I also use a left or right nudge from the lower bumper to get a nice vertical bounce. This is also useful on the horseshoe shot: give a little side nudge as it comes out to get the ball centred on the bottom bumper.

3) If the ball is headed to the lower bumper do not touch the flippers. You're just asking for one of the under-flipper drains.

4) As noted in another thread one of the best strategies is to light 4, 5, or 6 of the lamps then keep shooting the middle hole. It's the only real way to rack up big points quickly. Save the special for after a few hole shots as it sends you back to 500 points per shot to the hole and resets all lamps.