Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 60 fps lock?

  1. #1
    Senior Member danivempire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    668
    My Devices
    Galaxy Tab S 10.5 , Huawei P8, Steam, PS4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    60 fps lock?

    Hi guys

    Earlier this year I bout a 1440p 144hz monitor.
    Yesterday I tried the beta for the Williams tables from zen, and playing fish tales at 144 fps is like a cosmic experience.

    After around 10 games I wanted to compare it with tpa version.
    Yes the graphics, physics and overall feeling is better on zen...

    But what bothered me the most is that it didn't feel smooth, I checked and it seems to be locked at 60 fps.

    I looked in the option but I didn't find anything.

    Is it possible to run tpa at 144fps???

    Envoyé de mon BLA-L29 en utilisant Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Junior Member Phil_194's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Fakenham, Norfolk (UK).
    Posts
    23
    My Devices
    Fire HD 8 tablet, Fire TV, ipad.
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by danivempire View Post
    Is it possible to run tpa at 144fps???
    I think it’s locked at around 60fps unfortunately. If your monitor’s got one of those buttons that changes the refresh rate on the fly you might be able to trick it into running a little smoother giving you a slight edge. I had one of those G-Sync monitors and the settings in control panel could make or break that game, but I can’t remember how exactly.
    "Pinball is about... about a sort of satisfying feeling when you're playing the game when you're flipping it up, flipping at the ball." -Pat Lawlor.

  3. #3
    Senior Member danivempire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    668
    My Devices
    Galaxy Tab S 10.5 , Huawei P8, Steam, PS4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do have a gsync monitor, and I can set it to 60 hz

    I'll give it a try

    Envoyé de mon BLA-L29 en utilisant Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    3,738
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a 144hz monitor and have not experienced any issues with TPA (or any other game) that is locked in at 60fps.

    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  5. #5
    Senior Member danivempire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    668
    My Devices
    Galaxy Tab S 10.5 , Huawei P8, Steam, PS4
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EldarOfSuburbia View Post
    I have a 144hz monitor and have not experienced any issues with TPA (or any other game) that is locked in at 60fps.

    There is no issue, but when I compared fishtales on the new pinball fx 3, running at 144fps...
    Well when you go back to 60 fps on tpa you feel the difference

    Envoyé de mon BLA-L29 en utilisant Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Senior Member NoEx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Lost in Space
    Posts
    276
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried to unlock the 60 fps cap of TPA to 144 fps and unfortunately, like most of the game's engine that aren't designed to run at a higher fps rate, the game is running super fast and is not playable at all...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •