Page 72 of 72 FirstFirst ... 2262707172
Results 1,776 to 1,800 of 1800

Thread: Pro Pinball

  1. #1776
    Senior Member Pinballwiz45b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    3,547
    My Devices
    PC
    Blog Entries
    29
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

  2. #1777
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    4,014
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Time to resurrect this thread, I think!

    I just bought Pro Pinball in the Steam sale, and I can't for the life of me figure out how to get a proper single-monitor portrait orientation view going. Cabinet mode really isn't what I'm after. All the view options are landscape.
    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  3. #1778
    Senior Member mpad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    munich
    Posts
    1,398
    My Devices
    custom cabinet
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have to start it when already in portrait. Then go to settings and set the resolution. Then it will download (huge file) the view.
    At least that is how I remember it. You definitely have to download the appropriate view.

  4. #1779
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    4,014
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mpad View Post
    You have to start it when already in portrait. Then go to settings and set the resolution. Then it will download (huge file) the view.
    At least that is how I remember it. You definitely have to download the appropriate view.
    I did start in portrait, and it still only offered, and downloaded, landscape views.

    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  5. #1780
    Senior Member zmcvay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    324
    My Devices
    Steam, PS4, iPad
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It should only ask for the vertical resolution, are 2560 or 1920 not options? I get those whether i start in portrait or not.

  6. #1781
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    4,014
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by zmcvay View Post
    It should only ask for the vertical resolution, are 2560 or 1920 not options? I get those whether i start in portrait or not.
    It defaulted to 2160, which I thought was a bit odd. Now I think about it, I have full DSR enabled so my max vertical resolution in portrait is 3840 (on a 1080x1920 display). So presumably it defaulted to the biggest value it could. I'll try picking 1920 and see what happens.

    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  7. #1782
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    4,014
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well that didn't work. Rotated my monitor to portrait, started the game, went to options->graphics and the slider doesn't give me 1920 in the list. All the vertical options look as if they are for landscape.
    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  8. #1783
    Senior Member zmcvay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    324
    My Devices
    Steam, PS4, iPad
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, fiddling with this while managing my leftover Thanksgiving guests, but try this:

    Go to Users/<username>/AppData/Local/Barnstorm Games/Pro Pinball Ultra/

    And find UserDefault.xml

    Look for the line that starts with: <graphics_view_resolution_name_high>

    Change the line to:

    <graphics_view_resolution_name_high>1920_1920</graphics_view_resolution_name_high>

    Save, start Pro pinball and start the sim. When I tried that it downloaded the 1080x1920 files automatically.

  9. #1784
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    4,014
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm. That line was already in that file, along with a bunch of other, similar, lines. I'm going to try tweaking some likely-looking stuff to see what happens.
    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  10. #1785
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    4,014
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm about ready to give up... it's as if the game doesn't recognize that I'm in portrait mode. All it wants to do is download 2160, and that's even with DSR turned off and after a reboot.
    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  11. #1786
    Senior Member lio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    210
    My Devices
    Samsungy Galaxy S5, S7 edge, PC
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not on my computer right now but I believe the highest portrait resolution available is the odd resolution 1900 (not even 1920)... I'm running the game on a 4K screen in portrait mode with a 8GB 1080GTX but 1900 res was the highest available as far as I remember.
    Last edited by lio; 11-26-2017 at 01:19 PM.

  12. #1787
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,175
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EldarOfSuburbia View Post
    Cabinet mode really isn't what I'm after.
    Could it be that Eldar means non stretched portrait mode and the others think of cabinet mode, which is
    stretched portrait mode. I think the game only has landscape or cab mode.

    The max vertical resolution depends on the chosen camera.

    cam 1 = 1900
    cam 2 = 2160
    cam 3 = 2160
    cam 4 = 2560 (also 1920)
    cam 5 = 2160

  13. #1788
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,175
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm on Linux and just did a test with cam 4 in cabinet mode. Resolution 1920.
    On the cam 4 thumbnail you can see the dmd and backbox but when you select it for cab mode you only get the playfield.
    I'd say Eldar should go for cam 4.

    [edit]

    Just noticed, you can't add another dmd to cam4 in cab mode. You only see an upside down reflection on the playfield glass.

    [edit2]

    No wait, I think cam 4 without cab mode but with table rotation is the best option.
    Sorry, actually the first time that I play around with portrait mode in propinball.
    Last edited by Biff; 11-28-2017 at 03:12 PM.

  14. #1789
    Senior Member Fungi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    4,888
    My Devices
    iTouch,New New iPad, iPad Air, Steam
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dab-nabbit! I just updated my iOS to 12 and now Timeshock crashes.

  15. #1790
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    249
    My Devices
    iPad Pro, iPhone X, VPCabs Vertigo
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fungi View Post
    Dab-nabbit! I just updated my iOS to 12 and now Timeshock crashes.
    It’s working fine for me on my iPad Pro running iOS 12.01.
    覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧-
    Updated most wanted FarSight list: 鉄pirit of 76 (Gottlieb) 鉄impsons (Data East) 釘ig Bang Bar (Capcom)
    Most wanted Zen list: 迭evenge From Mars, 的ndiana Jones, 擢unhouse

  16. #1791
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    485
    My Devices
    PC, Android
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Resurrecting this thread as its 50% off in the Steam summer sale.

    How does it compare to the newer tables (Williams & otherwise) in FX3?

  17. #1792
    Moderator Jeff Strong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Secret Lair
    Posts
    8,096
    My Devices
    PC, PS4 Pro, iPad Pro
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wilbers View Post
    Resurrecting this thread as its 50% off in the Steam summer sale.

    How does it compare to the newer tables (Williams & otherwise) in FX3?
    The physics were the best in biz up until just recently, but I’d say Zen has finally taken the cake with their Williams releases. Timeshock is a bit of a masterpiece in its own way, and still plays amazingly after all these years, so I’d definitely recommend picking it up at that price, especially if you’ve never played it before. The DMD animations and such are a bit more subdued compared to a real WMS-designed pin, but there are definitely some gems to stumble accross, and some of the call outs still crack me up after all these years (“What a big one!”).
    Last edited by Jeff Strong; 06-25-2019 at 09:46 PM.

  18. #1793
    Senior Member Pinballwiz45b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    3,547
    My Devices
    PC
    Blog Entries
    29
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Given Barnstorm's inactivity around the pinball scene nowadays, I'd have to agree with Jeff on this. The Williams physics on FX3 are top notch.

    Pro Pinball is still great though.

  19. #1794
    Senior Member zmcvay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    324
    My Devices
    Steam, PS4, iPad
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Even after 20 years, Timeshock is still my favorite digital-only table, though I'd agree physics wise Zen has finally caught up to them. Just a shame it seems like the chances of getting updates of the other Pro Pinball tables is practically nil at this point.

  20. #1795
    Senior Member wolfson's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,532
    My Devices
    xbox1s , laptop
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yep agree fellas , shame we might not see the other tables , but Zen has certainly taken the cake . I love it on Zen because I`m getting all my tables in the one place , as I love both forms of pinball . and they have done a great job with the physics , to be honest , better than I ever thought they could do . you could say I`m very happy camper .

  21. #1796
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    485
    My Devices
    PC, Android
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bought it now, only had a couple of games so far. Looks and plays great. Started by picking the guest option, is there a good reason it asks to set up an account? thought it would just use Steam name for high scores like umpteen other games do.

  22. #1797
    Senior Member zmcvay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    324
    My Devices
    Steam, PS4, iPad
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    High scores are independent of platform and are saved by the account. I think an account is a requirement to post on the leaderboard, but I don't think there's another reason if you don't want to create an account.

  23. #1798
    Senior Member Tabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    830
    My Devices
    PS3, PS4, Android (LG G2), iPod Air
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If anybody cares, Pro Pinball is half-price on Steam right now:

    https://store.steampowered.com/app/2...Pinball_Ultra/

  24. #1799
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    9
    My Devices
    N/A
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does anyone know why the android version of Pro Pinball has been removed from Google Play?

  25. #1800
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Posts
    153
    My Devices
    Xbone
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's a tragedy Pro-Pinball isn't on console: wtf!

Page 72 of 72 FirstFirst ... 2262707172

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •