Results 1 to 13 of 13

  Click here to go to the first FarSight post in this thread.   Thread: Dr Who update has bugs

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Miami, Florida, United States
    Posts
    522
    My Devices
    Kindle Fire
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Dr Who update has bugs

    The ball floats and drifts around unnatural and slows down and speeds up randomly.

    The two ball locks in the center suck the balls in like vacuums now, its like there are magnets pulling the ball in.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Tarek Oberdieck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    450
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich Lehmann View Post
    The ball floats and drifts around unnatural and slows down and speeds up randomly.

    The two ball locks in the center suck the balls in like vacuums now, its like there are magnets pulling the ball in.
    Can more people confirm the slow ball movement in TPA? I thought it was my personal PC configuration. Since a few weeks after some Windows 10 updates the ball movement is strange sometimes. In addition the mouse cursor has his own life in TPA and sometimes the complete application is froozen. Is this a common problem or is it just me?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Snorzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,353
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have super slowmo problems A few weeks ago I had to reset my PC to factory specs because no matter what I did TPA was running at half its correct frame rate. Its supposed to be locked at 60fps fo propper physics and ball behavior, this all started for me after an update to Adobe.

    What does Steams frame rate counter say for you Tarek?

    After the reset, my Nvidia GeForce Experiance keept showing a driver update but every time I clicked on it it said 'unable to connect to Nvidia, try again later' but TPA was running flawless again so I just left it, problem was my girls games and Zaccaria where then not being optimized, so I went directly to the Nvidia site and had it scan my PC for the correct Drivers, it said I was missing Java so I downloaded it and Geforce experiance auto updated giving the newest drivers. Now TPA runs at around 30fps unplayable.


    I see a few others have mentioned the same issue in Steams TPA forum. I would greatly appreciate any feedback on this issue from anyone who may be able to help, especially from one of the Farsight guys.

    This frame rate thing is super important the game needs to be locked at 60fps, in theory someone could purposely run the game at a lower frame rate to cheat

  4. #4
    Senior Member EldarOfSuburbia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    3,987
    My Devices
    PC, Android, WiiU
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm on the latest nVidia drivers and version of Experience and haven't seen any problems.

    BTW Java is required for the nVidia website to auto detect settings, most browsers disable Java plug-ins (well Chrome does... can't speak to IE/Edge).

    Since you're on a laptop (you mention in another thread you've got a 940M) check that TPA hasn't suddenly switched to integrated graphics instead of the dedicated GPU. I've seen that happen with other games as well.

    "You've got an arm like a wet rag!" - The Dummy, Hurricane (Williams, 1991)
    "Ace of Clubs?!" - Bride of Pin*Bot, Jack*Bot (Williams, 1995)
    "You have been terminated. Have a nice day!" - Candy 2000, Safe Cracker (Williams, 1996)

    Wizard Goals remaining: Safe Cracker 26 [Unique] Tokens (19/26 collected); F-14 250K Launch Bonus; Frankie 150M Creature Jackpot, Complete CREATURE

  5. #5
    Senior Member Tarek Oberdieck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    450
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Snorzel View Post
    What does Steams frame rate counter say for you Tarek?
    60 FPS most of the time. In some moments the rate drops down to 30 FPS for a few seconds or minutes. Very annoying.

    Quote Originally Posted by Snorzel View Post
    ...in theory someone could purposely run the game at a lower frame rate to cheat
    I can't imagine that this slow motion is good for cheating. It's much easier to play always with 60 FPS.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Snorzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,353
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by EldarOfSuburbia View Post
    I'm on the latest nVidia drivers and version of Experience and haven't seen any problems.

    BTW Java is required for the nVidia website to auto detect settings, most browsers disable Java plug-ins (well Chrome does... can't speak to IE/Edge).

    Since you're on a laptop (you mention in another thread you've got a 940M) check that TPA hasn't suddenly switched to integrated graphics instead of the dedicated GPU. I've seen that happen with other games as well.

    I just saw it was reverted back to integrated graphics in Nvidia control panel, selected High performance processor, but the tables still play locked at 31fps I dont get it

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Miami, Florida, United States
    Posts
    522
    My Devices
    Kindle Fire
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yall realize this is a Kindle Fire thread not PC?

  8. #8
    Senior Member Snorzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,353
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich Lehmann View Post
    Yall realize this is a Kindle Fire thread not PC?
    Derp


    My bad

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Miami, Florida, United States
    Posts
    522
    My Devices
    Kindle Fire
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not that it matters, I don't think they even check these.

  10. #10
    Moderator Xanija's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,317
    My Devices
    Galaxy Tab S2 9.7, PC, Switch
    Blog Entries
    2
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can guarantee they do check these threads.

  11.   This is the last FarSight post in this thread.   #11
    FarSight Employee Brandon Garvin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Big Bear City
    Posts
    118
    My Devices
    PC, Android
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can as well, we spend a good amount of time checking out what problems you guys are having so we can tell the appropriate people to fix them.

    I don't have a kindle on my desk right now so I can't personally confirm this issue, but I've been told that someone is looking into the table slow down issues on the kindle.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Miami, Florida, United States
    Posts
    522
    My Devices
    Kindle Fire
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Snorzel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,353
    My Devices
    PC
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tarek Oberdieck View Post
    I can't imagine that this slow motion is good for cheating. It's much easier to play always with 60 FPS.
    Sorry for yet another off topic post, but I feel this must be addressed, I am not talking about random frame rate drops/ changes I mean when the game is locked at 30fps everything happens at half speed, it takes half the reaction time to get the timing and 'railroads' figured out. Scores acquired this way should most deffinately be viewed as illegitimate and someone setting up their rig intentionally to run at half frame rate / speed is cheating, plain and simple. I bet even the timer in the tourney runs at half speed when the frame rate is halved

    Thank you @Brandon Garvin for verifying you guys are looking at our posts, this is good news
    @Xanija congrats on the mod status glad to see you in this role!
    Last edited by Snorzel; 11-05-2016 at 10:26 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •