How can I improve my Pinball skills?

gjarnling

Jun 12, 2012
apart from the very good advice above you need to practice when and how to change the course of the ball by nudging the table. can see on your profile you play TPA on your iPad/iPhone and many (if not most) are not satisfied with the nudging on iOS as it is. even so it can help you by saving the ball from obvious drains, both SDTM and outlanes. and timing is everything, as always with pinball.

mfk

Jul 9, 2012
I was experimenting with nudging today. With different results.
Here are my thoughts. And again I would like to emphasize that I'm totally new to advanced skills :)

Example: If the ball is about to hit the left outlane, one has to hit the flipper from the right side. The table is pushed to the left and the ball - because of its inertia - stays at the same (or almost the same) horizontal position and will not go into the outlane.
Did I got this right? Then timing is more than critical for successful nudging.

The problem is: when I hit my iPad on the right side, the table is moving to the left for a fraction of a second and then moves back to the original position.
Is this behavior the same on a real table? I have to admit that I never tried it on a real table.
(That would mean that the pedestals of the table are on the same position at every time and the table is only moving because of the resilience of the whole system).

Nevertheless I think I made some progress today (only played BoP).
Stopping the ball first and then aim for the ramp makes a big difference to shooting as fast as possible - which I did before.
I also tried to get a "live catch", unfortunately this did not work so far (maybe it's not possible in TPA or my method is not advanced enough yet.

In summary, I think that I'm on the right way - thanks to your help :)

Regards

Michael

mmmagnetic

May 29, 2012
Another tip: