Nudging - advice needed

phattslagg

Banned
Jul 29, 2013
Hello there!

I've been playing TPA for about 2 years now, mostly on iPad.

In all this time, it seems I have completely failed to learn how to nudge instinctively. Instead, I seem to be forever cursed to watch the ball drain SDTM, in an almost trance-like state, and only once it has reached the pixel below the point of no return will I think "Nudge".

Any advice as to how I might overcome this terrible affliction?

sotie

Aug 30, 2012
You have to ask yourself if I had just nudged would the ball have not drained? Then when the ball is going the same way in the future anticipate it with a nudge. At first, it's mental olympics then after you're used to it it will become instinctive and you won't even need to think about it. When you get better at it you'll want to start nudging to manipulate the ball more (not just to stop ball drains).

On the iPad I prefer touch nudging with 'Invert Nudge' set to Off. Invert nudge off feels more natural to me.

Welcome to the forum!

Last edited:

TomL

Mar 12, 2013
If you want nudging practice, play tables like Big Shot, Genie, Central Park. You have more opportunities to practice, without other distractions.

DrainoBraino

Apr 11, 2012
Play a few games where all you do is nudge. don't worry about draining or tilting, just nudge and see how the ball reacts. When the ball is in the middle of the playfield, nudge to steer it toward either flipper. Utilize the ball's left or right momentum and nudge it in that direction, don't try to nudge against it's momentum unless it's heading toward an outlane. Again, DONT WORRY ABOUT DRAINING, just do it.

Nudge early. WAY EARLY. and practice.

DeeEff

Feb 28, 2013
+2/3 to TomL.

In order to get good at something (nudging) ya gotta practice. So nudge when you don't need to, and observe the results. Keep at it until you can predict what will happen when you nudge in any direction.